Zoom Security

What is Zoombombing?

A new form of trolling in which a participant uses Zoom’s screensharing feature to interrupt and disrupt meetings and classes.

How to Prevent Zoombombing

By default all Zoom meetings are set to require participants to log into zoom. If an external participant will be in attendance, this feature will need to be disabled if they do not have a Zoom account.

Set Password & Enable Waiting Room

There are two key features that enable you to secure your meetings: Set Up Password and Enable Waiting Room. Set Up Password requires a participant to enter a password to enter the meeting. The Waiting Room feature allows you to control when a participant joins the meeting. These features will help prevent “zoombombing” of your classes. As host, you can admit attendees one by one or all at once.

Set Password & Enable Waiting Room

When scheduling a Zoom meeting in Blackboard ensure that you set the following meeting options:

  • (a)Select Require meeting password.
  • (b)Input a password or accept the randomly generated number from Blackboard.
  • (c)Select Enable waiting room.
  • (d)Select Record the meeting automatically.
  • (e)Select In the cloud.

Waiting room

Any participant who does not login using their LIU Zoom credentials automatically will be placed in the Waiting Room.

Start Meeting with Waiting Room

  1. Start your meeting from the Blackboard and open the Zoom app when prompted.
  2. As participants join the call, you will see a pop-up message:
    • To admit a person directly, click Admit.
    • To see all participants in the waiting room, click See waiting room.
  1. In the waiting room panel, perform one of the following:
    • Click Admit All to admit all participants.
    • Click Admit to allow a single participant into the meeting.
    • Click Remove to remove a single participant from the Zoom meeting.

Managing a Meeting

Once the meeting has started, the meeting room is still active.

  1. If you wish to return a participant to the meeting room:

Managing a Meeting

Once the meeting has started, the waiting room is still active.

  1. If you wish to return a participant to the waiting room:
    • Click Manage Participants.
    • In the Participants panel, place your mouse over the name of a person and click More.
    • Click Put in Waiting Room.
  1. If you wish to remove a participant from the meeting.
    • Place your mouse over the name of a person and click More.
    • Click Remove.

Lock a Meeting

When you lock your meeting, no additional participants are able to enter your class.

1. While in meeting session, click ‘Participants’ at the bottom of your Zoom window.

2. In the participants’ pop-up box, select (a) More and (b) Lock Meeting. When the meeting is locked, no new participants can join, even if they have the meeting ID and password.

To do this you must first got to http://liu.zoom.us on your desktop computer.

1. Click on the Meetings tab

2. Click on the name of the meeting you wish to edit.

3. At the bottom, click on Edit this Meeting ( if this is a reoccurring meeting, it will ask if you are editing just one or all).

4. Uncheck Only authenticated users can join. Then click save.
(if desired you can also uncheck the waiting room and password options as well)

Zoom