If you shared a portfolio in Blackboard in the past, you may remember that you only had to share the portfolio once. After you shared it with a group or an individual, they would see the latest changes whenever they viewed your portfolio.
In the new version of Blackboard, you actually share a “snapshot” of the portfolio, meaning that the people you share it with will only see the version of your portfolio at the time you took the snapshot.
Go to your list of
Click on the drop-down beside the portfolio you want to share
If you have shared this portfolio with an individual or group in the past and you want to share an updated snapshot of your portfolio, you will need to select that snapshot and click [Remove this Snapshot]If you have never shared this portfolio with others, you will go directly to Share a Snapshot with…
Click [Share a Snapshot with]You have a few choices:
- Users. These are faculty, staff and students within the USC system. You will need to know or browse for their USC Network Username. They will see your portfolio in the [Shared with Me] area of the portfolio tool when they are logged into Blackboard.
- External Users. These are people outside the USC system. You must know their e-mail address. They are sent a unique link to view your portfolio. You are given the option of editing the e-mail that is sent.
- Share with Courses and Organizations. Portfolios can be shared with all users in a course or organization within the USC Blackboard system. You will need to search for the specific course/organization
- Sharing by Institutional Roles and to All System Accounts should be disabled.
Note About Sharing Your Portfolio with a Course in Blackboard
It is sometimes hard to find the specific course because this search tool requires you to have the text exactly like they have it in the system. The best way is to search by using the “Course ID” field. Here is an example:
I wrote the letters and numbers of the Course ID (without the section number) and did not include spaces or hyphens. SLIS794 I got a lot of hits because there are so many sections of this course each semester, but I found section 014 for the current semester. Here is what the search and results looked like:
Note About Permissions for Sharing Some Artifact Files
Depending on the source of artifacts you link to, you may need to grant permission for the specific people or course/organization who will be viewing your portfolio to access the particular file, folder, or web page.
In the case of online resources that require a password to use, there may or may not be a way to share resources you create in that system. This ranges from basic tools like Google Drive to content-specific tools like Quia (where you can create an online educational activity). You will need to explore the rules for using those tools to confirm that someone without a password or an account will be able to view the material.
If you point to an item that is stored in your Content Collection in Blackboard, you will need to make sure the users you want to be able to view (or edit) the item have permission to do so.
In your Content Collection, go the the item you want to share and click on Permissions:
Depending on who you are sharing your portfolio with, you will need to select Specific Users, Select Specific Users by Role (shown in the image below), or you can Permit Anyone.
Within the option(s) you choose, you will then give permission for them to Read, Write, Remove or Manage the item.
You will probably want most people to just be able to Read the items you are sharing.
You want to share your portfolio with everyone by pasting the URL into a document or presentation
Unfortunately, pages in Blackboard are not like real web pages. Blackboard is a closed system and you cannot link to pages inside that system, only to the log in page. If you send the URL to any page within Blackboard, the link either takes the user to the login page or to the red “Not Found’ error message saying they don’t have access.
Article Credit: Susan W Quinn.